top of page

2023 Junior Football Best and Fairest Results

Ambitious Katunga junior Lochie O’Brien made it back-to-back Thirds Best and Fairest and Best in Finals awards for 2023. After coming runners up in the PDFNL medal, it was no surprise him taking home the club count. Lochie brings brutal strength for the footy with his game and his footy smarts to be able to play behind the footy as well. Lochie has stepped up to senior football on numerous occasions and doesn’t shy away from the contest against the bigger opposition, capably holding his own.

Narrowly behind coming fourth in the PDFNL count, Aiden Harris received the Runners Up trophy. Getting his first taste of senior football this year Aiden had a very consistent and strong year. Playing at centre half forward and swinging into the ruck, he continually out marked his opponents and his repeat efforts when the ball goes to ground are an asset of his game.

The Hansen Trophy – Most Promising Junior was presented to Ethan Davies. After having an interrupted season last year with a knee injury, Ethan really took a step up this year. His hard work ethic on the track and come game day, he shows tremendous promising signs of be a great senior footballer for the club.

Jake Bell received the Coaches Trophy for his leadership on and off the field. Jake holds himself at a very high standard, and after having the opportunity to play seniors this year his game excelled with his ability to read the play and rebound.

Most Improved went to Ty Milne whose growth throughout the season was instrumental.

Best Team Man was awarded to Michael van den Goor. A player every team wants in their side. He never gets flustered, is a natural leader and puts his body on the lines for his teammates.

The Most Determined trophy went to Ryan Russo. They don’t come much tougher than Ryan. His teammates walk taller around him just by his inspiring game style. No matter what role he is given he is determined to never get beaten.

Zav Morris was once again the teams leading goal kicker and has really come of age as a footballer. His growth as a sub in the senior side, including throughout the finals campaign has been profound.

There was no surprise with inspirational captain and PDFNL Runners Up Cooper Tetley being a runaway winner of the Fourths Best and Fairest. Cooper’s attack on the ball and work rate has led to an outstanding season for the club.

Jules Cook improved out of sight and has had a huge season as a key forward, kicking 67 goals (one shy of the PDFNL Leading Goalkicker) and with a top 10 finish in the PDFNL count. Both boys also did well as Interleague Representatives.

Most Improved went to Max Tille, Coaches Trophy to Ryder Dezwart, Best Team Man was Tyson Simpson, Best First Year Player Kade Rogers and Degan Ryan received both the Most Consistent and Best in Finals.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page